1. Home
  2. Countries
  3. Bolivia

Bolivian Flag

Physical Map of Bolivia showing relief, rivers, mountains ranges, major lakes, important cities, bordering countries, and more.
Where is Bolivia?

Flag of Bolivia

Bolivia's Quick Facts

Land Area 1,083,301 km2
Water Area 15,280 km2
Total Area 1,098,581 km2
Population 10,969,649
Population Density 9.99 / km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $78.66 Billion
GDP Per Capita $7,200
Currency Boliviano (BOB)
Largest Cities
  • La Paz (1,857,797)
  • Santa Cruz (1,712,688)
  • Cochabamba (1,303,907)
  • Oruro (318,022)
Bolivia Flag:
Flag of Bolivia

The current flag of Bolivia was adopted in 1851. It displays three horizontal stripes of red, yellow and green, with the Bolivian coat of arms in the center. Red symbolizes the brave soldiers of Bolivia, green for fertility, and yellow as the nation's mineral deposits.

Larger Bolivia flag

Large selection of South American flags

Bolivia Coat of Arms:
Coat of arms of bolivia

Bolivia's coat of arms consists of a cartouche surrounded by Bolivian flags, muskets, laurel branches, and an Andean Condor atop. The ten stars in the border of the cartouche symbolize the nine departments of Bolivia, as well as the former province Litoral. Mount Potosi sits in the center of the cartouche, with an alpaca standing next to a tree and some wheat. All are symbolic of the natural resources of Bolivia.

The crossed rifles behind the cartouche represent the struggle for independence, while the axe and Phrygian hood represent liberty and freedom. The laurel branches are symbolic of peace, and the condor perched upon the shield are symbolic of a willingness to defend the nation and its liberty.

Latest by WorldAtlas