1. World Map/
  2. Oceania/
  3. Australia/
  4. Australia Symbols

Australian Symbols

Australia's Information

Flag of Australia
Land Area 7,682,300 km2
Water Area 58,920 km2
Total Area 7,741,220km2 (#6)
Population 22,992,654 (#56)
Population Density 2.99/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Democracy (Federal Parliament) Under A Constitutional Monarchy; A Commonwealth Realm
GDP (PPP) $1,190.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $48,800
Currency Dollar (AUD)
More Information Australia
Largest Cities

About Australia

  • Animal: Kangaroo, Koala (unofficial)
  • Bird: Emu
  • Coat of Arms:

    Flag of Australia

  • Coat of Arms: The Australia Coat of Arms consists of a shield portraying the badges of the six Australian states, enclosed by an ermine border. The three states on the top half, from left to right are New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland. The bottom half, from left to right are South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania. The shield symbolizes the federation of the states, which took place in 1901.

    Supporting the Coat of Arms are the red kangaroo and the emu, native Australian animals. Neither animal can walk backwards, thus representing progress and an unwillingness to back down. The background contains a wreath of Golden Wattle, the official national flora emblem. At the bottom of the Coat of Arms is a scroll containing the name Australia.

    Above the shield is the crest, a seven-pointed gold star on a blue and gold wreath. Six of the points are representative of the states of the Commonwealth, the seventh point represents the territories of Australia.
  • Flag of Australia
  • Gem: Opal
  • National Anthem: "Advance Australia Fair"
  • Tree: Golden Wattle (evergreen, spreading shrub or small tree)

Trending on WorldAtlas

Australia territories, states & their capitals

Region Capital Quick Reference
Australian Capital Territory Canberra Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales Sydney New South Wales
Northern Territory Darwin Northern Territory
Queensland Brisbane Queensland
South Australia Adelaide South Australia
Tasmania Hobart Tasmania
Victoria Melbourne Victoria
Western Australia Perth Western Australia

Australia Trivia

What is the Official Language of Australia?

English is the de facto national language of Australia.

What Languages Are Spoken In Australia?

What are the Major Industries in Australia?

The service industry comprises of over 70% of the Australia GDP. It dominates the economy, which employs over 79% of the labor force. Other major industries include tourism, healthcare, media, finance, and mining.

What Are The Biggest Industries In Australia?

What Are the Major Ethnic Backgrounds of Australians?

67.4% of Australians cite British heritage. 8.7% of Australians claim Irish ancestry, 3.8% claim Italian, and 3.7% claim German. Australians of Chinese heritage represent 3.6% of the population, while Aboriginal Australians account for 3% of the population.

Demographics and Ethnic Groups of Australia

What Kind of Plants Live in Australia?

Some of the native plant species of Australia include the archer's eremophila, the lance-leaved sundew and the bull kauri.

Native Plants Of Australia

What Kind of Government Does Australia Have?

Australia is governed by both the federal government and the state and territory governments. Queen Elizabeth II is Australia's head of state under a constitutional monarchy.

What Type of Government Does Australia Have?

What are the Deadliest Snakes in Australia?

The deadliest snakes in Australia include the southern death adder, the lowlands copperhead, the inland fierce taipan, the gwardar, and the coastal eastern taipan.

10 Deadliest Snakes Of Australia

States & Territories of Australia