return to Graphic Maps
Africa | Antarctica | Arctic | Asia | Australia/Oceania | Caribbean | Central America | Europe | Islands of the World
Middle East | North America | South America | World Atlas | Articles

russian federation
Country Details

arrow Description:

European Russia is the mass of Russian land west of the Ural Mountains It's indicated above in a medium shade of green, fronting Europe.

It is not a separate country, but rather called European Russia because of its political and cultural blending with European countries and peoples.

St. Petersburg and Moscow, (the capital) are located in European Russia. Regardless, the entire country is (geographically) still considered a part of Asia.

The Russian Federation - spread over all climate zones (except tropical) - is the world's largest country, with land that stretches halfway around the planet.

In fact, by airplane from Moscow, it takes over 8 hours to reach Vladivostok on its far eastern coast.

Moscow is the country's major economic and political center; it's the seat of the President, the government and the State Duma.

To learn more about the dynamics of this unparrelled land, visit this page.

Facts and Figures

arrow Official Name Russian Federation

arrow Population 145,934,000

arrow Capital City Moscow (8.4 million)

arrow Largest Cities (metro areas) Moscow (12 million), St. Petersburg (4.8 million), Nizhnij Novgorod (1.9 million), Novosibirsk (1.4 million), Sverdlovsk (1.4 million)

arrow Languages Russian (official), others

arrow Official Currency Ruble

arrow Currency Converter (here)

arrow Religions Russian Orthodox, others

arrow Flag here

arrow Land Area The country is approximately 5,592 miles, (9000km) west to east, with a total land area of 17,075,400 sq km, (6,592,812 sq miles)

arrow Latitude/Longitude 55 75N, 37 62E

arrow Land Borders 36,388 miles (58,562 km), with 8,845 miles (14,253 km) bordering countries, and 27,532 miles (44,309 km) bordering oceans and seas.

arrow Landforms The broad European Plain, or Volga River Plain extends from the Ural Mountains to its western borders. In the far southwest the Caucasus Mountains slice across the land. The country's highest point, Mt. Elbrus, is located here, at 18,481 ft. (5,633m). The central and southern areas include large fertile areas, marsh, steppes (plains without trees) and massive coniferous forests. Siberia is a combination of frozen tundra, with rolling hills rising to plateaus, and numerous rugged mountain ranges. The northeast, south-central and southeast areas are covered by a wide variety of mountain ranges. A few on the Kamchatka Peninsula are active volcanoes. Russia has more than 100,000 rivers with a length of 7 miles, or greater. Significant rivers include the Volga, Dnieper and Dvina (in the east) and the Lena, Ob, and Yenisey (central). Lake Baikal is the deepest lake in the world, at 5,310 ft. (1,620m).

arrow Land Divisions The Russian Federation is divided into 21 republics, 6 krays (federal territories), 2 federal cities, 49 regions (oblasts), 1 autonomous region and 10 autonomous areas. It has 1,067 major cities, with 13 having a population of one million, or more.

Contact Us | Privacy Statement
Copyrighted by Graphic Maps
All rights reserved!

All maps, graphics and original descriptions created by Graphic Maps, a d/b/a of the Woolwine-Moen Group, unless otherwise noted and/or directly linked to the source, and use of same for any application whatsoever (with the exception of outline maps) requires written permission.

We make no copyright claim on any statistical data on this page, nor on any non-original graphics, and/or pictures not produced by us. Certain statistical data is gathered from the CIA World Factbook, as well as numerous public domain reference materials.

Every effort is made to be as accurate as possible when disseminating information on any worldwide destination. We are not responsible for unintentional data entry errors or omissions. If you would like to submit an addition, change or correction, or suggest a new link, please forward it to our map department and we will give it our immediate attention.

return to Graphic Maps

dot Maps

arrow Russian Map (large) here

arrow Russian Outline Map here

arrow Russian Federation Outline Map here

arrow Russia Time Zone Map here

arrow Russian Federation Map CIA version here

arrow Russian Federation Maps at UT here

arrow Chechnya Map here

arrow Asia Continent (printable) here

arrow Asia Outline Map here

arrow Asia Political Map at UT here

arrow Europe Continent here

arrow European Continent at UT here

Suggested Links

arrow Moscow Guide here!

arrow here!

arrow Russian Embassy (U.S.) here!

arrow Russian Tourism here!

arrow St. Petersburg Guide here!

arrow Russian Federation (Complete) info on the (GDP) economy, imports and exports, natural resources, government, population, military, transportation, and much more here!

Time and Weather

arrow Time Zone (Moscow is UTC +3) Note that UTC is also known as GMT, or Greenwich Mean Time. Conversion details and additional info:

Russia stretches across eleven (11) time zones, and a few major city times (UTCs) are shown below. Based on the data shown, add the suggested hours to the Moscow time to find that city's current time.

Perm (UTC +5) add 2 hours to Moscow time

Omsk (UTC +6) add 3 hours to Moscow time

Irkutsk (UTC +8) add 5 hours to Moscow time

Vladivostok (UTC +10) add 7 hours to Moscow time

arrow Times across Russia here

arrow Russia Time Zone Map here

arrow Time and Date in Moscow

arrow Climate The Russian Federation (because of its size) has a wide variety of weather conditions.

In general terms, winters are somewhat mild along the Black Sea coastal areas, much colder inland and northwest, and frigid in Siberia.

Summers vary from mild to warm in the west and central, with cooler conditions north, and along the Arctic coast.

For specific conditions and forecast for a large variety of cities, go here.

Click for Forecast Click for Forecast

search and find

Africa | Antarctica | Asia | Australia/Oceania
Europe | Islands/Oceans | Middle East
North America | South America
World Atlas

dot European

arrow Albania

arrow Andorra

arrow Armenia

arrow Austria

arrow Azerbaijan

arrow Belgium

arrow Belarus

arrow Bosnia-Herzegovina

arrow Bulgaria

arrow Croatia

arrow Cyprus

arrow Czech Republic

arrow Denmark

arrow Estonia

arrow Finland

arrow France

arrow Georgia

arrow Germany

arrow Greece

arrow Hungary

arrow Iceland

arrow Ireland

arrow Italy

arrow Latvia

arrow Liechtenstein

arrow Lithuania

arrow Luxembourg

arrow Macedonia

arrow Malta

arrow Moldova

arrow Monaco

arrow Montenegro

arrow Netherlands

arrow Norway

arrow Poland

arrow Portugal

arrow Romania

arrow San Marino

arrow Serbia

arrow Slovakia

arrow Slovenia

arrow Spain

arrow Sweden

arrow Switzerland

arrow Turkey

arrow Ukraine

arrow United Kingdom

Northern Ireland

arrow Vatican City