What and Where are the Seven Seas?

What and Where are the Seven Seas?

The Seven Seas is a figurative term referring to all the seas and oceans of the world and the correct answer to the question depends on whom you ask, or what reference material you use.

Many experts and encyclopedias will list the modern Seven Seas as the:

North and South Atlantic
North and the South Pacific
and the Indian Ocean

During the Age of Discovery (1450-1650), some list the Seven Seas as the then seven navigable seas of the world:

and Pacific Oceans

and the
Mediterranean Sea,
the Caribbean Sea,
and the Gulf of Mexico

While others disagree and report the ancient Seven Seas to be the:

Mediterranean Sea
Red Sea
Black Sea
Adriatic Sea
Caspian Sea

and the
Persian Gulf
and the Indian Ocean

And it doesn't end there.... The ancient Hindus, Chinese, Persians, Romans and more referred to the Seven Seas as completely different bodies of water.

Share this page: