Ecuador Fast Facts

Looking to learn about Ecuador in under 1 minute? Check out our Where is Ecuador? page, or What is the Capital of Ecuador? page.

  • Name: Ecuador
    (long form) Republic of Ecuador
  • Capital City: Quito (1,397,698 pop.)
    (1,842,201 metro)
  • Ecuador Population: 15,439,429 (2013 est.)
  • World Populations (all countries)
  • Currency: United States Dollar (USD)
    (conversion rates)

    US Dollar
    One United States Dollar
  • Ethnicity: Mestizo (mixed Amerindian and white) 65%, Amerindian 25%, Spanish and others 7%, black 3%
  • GDP total: $155.8 billion (2012 est)
  • GDP per capita: $10,200 (2012 est)
  • Land Sizes
  • Language: Spanish (official), Amerindian languages (especially Quechua)
  • Largest Cities: (by population) Guayaquil, Quito, Cuenca, Santa Domingo de los Colorados, Machala, Manta, Portoviejo, Duran, Ambato, Riobamba
  • Name: Ecuador takes its name from the Equator, which runs through the country.
  • National Day: August 10
  • Religion: Roman Catholic 95%, other 5%
  • Symbols