World Facts

What Do The Colors And Symbols Of The National Flag Of Brazil Mean?

The current design of the national flag of Brazil was adopted on 19 November 1889.

The current flag of Brazil replaced the flag of the Empire of Brazil when it was accorded the official status on November 19, 1889. The flag was designed by a team led by Raimundo Teixeira Mendes together with Décio Villares, Manuel Pereira Reis, and Miguel Lemos. Brazil’s flag has been redesigned three times to reflect the addition of states. There were 22 stars in 1960, 23 in 1968, and 27 stars in 1992. The country has strict rules to be followed when flying the national flag.

Design Of The National Flag Of Brazil

Brazil's flag rests on a green field which contains a big yellow diamond at the center. The diamond has a blue globe in the middle which contains a total of 27 white stars, each with five points. A white strip runs across the globe with the inscription "Ordem E Progresso" in green which translates to Order and Progress in English.

Symbols Of The Brazilian National Flag

The green background as well as the yellow diamond (rhombus) were both adopted from the former imperial flag. The components were modified a bit in shape and hue. The green was the color of the House of Braganza of Pedro I, who served as Brazil's first Emperor. Gold was the color of the House of Habsburg which was the house of his wife named Empress Maria Leopoldina. The stars are scattered to represent the sky over the city of Rio de Janeiro, and they stand in place of the country's states in addition to the capital district. The motto across the globe is influenced by the motto of positivism by Auguste Comte which in English is "Love as a principle and order as the basis; progress as the goal."

Stars Of The Brazilian National Flag

The stars on the nation’s flag are contained in the Southern Cross, which is a symbolic constellation belonging to the southern hemisphere and also a few constellations around it. The only star above the white band is Spica which represents part of the nation’s territory situated in the northern hemisphere contained in the State of Pará. The Sigma Octantis star enjoys a unique position where despite it being small, all the other stars revolve around it. The star symbolizes the Federal District’s stability in the nation’s union. The country’s flag has its stars numbering to 27 representing the states as well as the Federal District. Located on the meridian is the constellation belonging to the Southern Cross. Some of the stars depicted on the flag and the states they represent are Sirius (Mato Grasso); Wezen (Roraima); Adhara (Tocantins); Antares (Piaui), and Sargas (Alagoas).

Colors Of The National Flag Of Brazil

Every color of the Brazilian flag is recognized for its symbolic meaning which is different from the meaning of the colors of the Brazilian Empire's flag. The yellow color symbolizes the wealth of the nation's soil including the rich gold reserves. The green color represents flora and fauna especially the Amazon rainforest, the Pantanal, as well as the jungle situated along the Atlantic Ocean.

More in World Facts