1. Home
  2. Countries
  3. Canada

Canadian Time

(Match the time bar color to the map color)

Print this map View time zone clocks
  • UTC at Greenwich, England

  • PDT - 7 hours from UTCPDT - 7 hours from UTC

  • MDT - 6 hours from UTCMDT - 6 hours from UTC

  • SASK - 6 hours from UTC

  • CDT - 5 hours from UTCCDT - 5 hours from UTC

  • EDT - 4 hours from UTCEDT - 4 hours from UTC

  • ADT - 3 hours from UTCADT - 3 hours from UTC

  • NDT - 2 1/2 hours from UTCNDT - 2 1/2 hours from UTC

Timezone Abbreviations

  • PDTPacific Daylight Time
  • MDTMountain Daylight Time
  • SASKSaskatchewan Central Standard Time
  • CDTCentral Daylight Time
  • EDTEastern Daylight Time
  • ADTAtlantic Daylight Time
  • NDTNewfoundland Daylight Time
  • DSTDaylight Saving Time

Current Dates and Times across Canada

Daylight Savings Time is now in effect across Canada.

Regarding DST, Saskatchewan and the far-eastern land peninsula of Quebec (directly south of Labrador) do not observe Daylight Saving Time.

Note that Nunavut is spread across three time zones; the far western part of Ontario uses Manitoba time; the far southeastern corner of British Columbia uses Alberta time, and the far-eastern peninsula of Quebec (directly south of Labrador) is on AST time throughout the year.

UTC and GMT an update

The worldwide standard for coordinated universal time, formerly known as GMT (Greenwich Mean Time), is now abbreviated as UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).

Some sources still refer to it as UTC/GMT and some web browsers, e.g. Mozilla Firefox, still display it as GMT.

The UTC Time (shown directly below) is the standard time zone upon which all other worldwide time zones are based. It never observes daylight saving time.

Latest by WorldAtlas