1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Russia/
  4. Russia Timeline

Russia History Timeline

Russia timeline

1900s continued

  • (1948) Cold War began with tense relations betweenUSA and USSR
  • (1953) Stalin suffered stroke and died
  • (1953) Malenkov succeeded Stalin as Premier and First Secretary of the Communist Party; Khrushchev became First Secretary
  • (1958) Khrushchev became Premier of Soviet Union
  • (1961) Russian Cosmonaut Yuri A. Gagarin became first man in space.
  • (1962) Novocherkassk massacre: Workers gathered in town square of Novocherkassk to protest increases in food prices and work quotas; shots were fired at the rioters, 25 killed, 87 injured
  • (1962) Cuban Missile Crisis: USA President Kennedy shown surveillance images of SS-4 launch sites in Cuba
  • (1962) President Kennedy declared any nuclear missile attack from Cuba would be considered as attack by Soviet Union
  • (1962) Soviet Union offered to withdraw missiles in return for USA's guarantee not to invade Cuba orsupport any invasion
  • (1962) Khrushchev ordered removal of Soviet missiles inCuba
  • (1964) Khrushchev deposed by party rivals, Leonid Brezhnev became First Secretary, Alexci Kosygin, Premier
  • (1965) Soviet Union backed North Vietnam againstUSA
  • (1979) Anthrax spores leaked from secret germ-warfare plant, spread over Sverdlovsk (Yekaterinburg), Russia; at least 105 people died of anthrax poisoning
  • (1982) Soviet leader Brezhnev died, succeeded by Yuri Andropov
  • (1985) Mikhail Gorbachev became Soviet Union leader, announced economic reforms known as perestroika (reconstruction and opening)
  • (1986) Nuclear accident in Chernobyl killed 49, spread nuclear radiation around Europe
  • (1986) Permanent space station, MIR, was launched
  • (1989) First free elections since 1917 were held
  • (1990) Boris Yeltsin elected president of Russian Federation
  • (1991) Russia became independent when Soviet Union collapsed; Russia, UkraineBelarus formed Commonwealth of Independent States
  • (1993) President Yeltsin suspended parliament, called for new elections following differences with MPs; MPs took over Parliament building
  • (1993) Yeltsin ordered army to attack Parliament building, caused bloody battle
  • (1993) New constitution approved, gave president sweeping powers; new legislature, State Duma replaced former parliament, the Supreme Soviet
  • (1994) Russian troops invaded Chechnya
  • (1996) Boris Yeltsin won presidential election
  • (1998) Ruble collapsed, government gave notice of intent to default on foreign debts
  • (1999) State Duma confirmed the appointment of Vladimir Putin as Prime Minister of Russia
  • (1999) After series of bomb explosions in Russia, which were blamed on Chechen extremists, Putin sent Russian troops back to Chechnya
  • (1999) Yeltsin resigned, Putin became acting president


  • (2000) Putin elected president with 53 percent of the vote.
  • (2000) Kursk nuclear submarine sunk in Barents Sea, entire crew was lost
  • (2002) Chechen rebels seized House of Culture theater in Moscow, took approximately 700 theatergoers hostage, demanded immediate Russian withdrawal fromChechnya; police pumped anesthetic into building, then broke in, executed 42 terrorists, 120 hostages died
  • (2002) Foreign ministers from Russia and NATO agreed to establish NATO-Russia Council, Russia and 19 NATO countries would have equal roles in decision making on policies to counter terrorism and other security threats
  • (2002) Russia and USA announced agreement on strategic nuclear weapons reduction, both would reduce their nuclear arsenals from over 6,000 missiles to about 2,000 each in the next 10 years
  • (2002) More than 50 people were killed when suicide bombers attacked headquarters of Moscow-backed Chechen government in Grozny
  • (2003) Chechen rebels blew up train killing 40 people
  • (2003) Government axed last independent TV channel
  • (2003) 15 killed by suicide bomb attacks at rock festival outside Moscow
  • (2003) 50 killed by suicide bomb attack on military hospital in Mozdok near Chechen border
  • (2003) Kyrgyzstan granted Russia military base at Kant to house rapid reaction force for combating terrorism
  • (2003) Russia, Ukraine signed agreement on joint use of Kerch Strait and status of Azov Sea
  • (2004) President Putin sacked government of Prime Minister Mikhail Kasyanov
  • (2004) Mikhail Fradkov became prime minister
  • (2004) President Putin won re-election with 71 percent of the vote
  • (2004) Chechen President Adhmad Kadyrov killed by Chechen terrorists

Russia's Information

Flag of Russia
Land Area 16,377,742 km2
Water Area 720,500 km2
Total Area 17,098,242km2 (#1)
Population 142,355,415 (#9)
Population Density 8.69/km2
Government Type Semi-presidential Federation
GDP (PPP) $3,750.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $26,100
Currency Ruble (RUB)
More Information Russia

About Russia

Trending on WorldAtlas

Russia republics, administrative territories, administrative regions, autonomous districts, 0, autonomous cities & their capitals

Region Capital
Adygea Maykop
Altai Gorno-Altaysk
Altai Krai Barnaul
Amur Oblast Blagoveshchensk
Arkhangelsk Oblast Arkhangel'sk
Astrakhan Oblast Astrakhan'
Bashkortostan Ufa
Belgorod Oblast Belgorod
Bryansk Oblast Bryansk
Buryatiya Ulan-Ude
Chechnya Groznyy
Chelyabinsk Oblast Chelyabinsk
Chukotka Autonomous Okrug Anadyr
Chuvashia Cheboksary
Dagestan Makhachkala
Ingushetia Magas
Irkutsk Oblast Irkutsk
Ivanovo Oblast Ivanovo
Jewish Autonomous Oblast Birobidzhan
Kabardino-Balkaria Nal'chik
Kaliningrad Oblast Kaliningrad
Kalmykia Elista
Kaluga Oblast Kaluga
Kamchatka Krai Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky
Karachay-Cherkessia Cherkessk
Karelia Petrozavodsk
Kemerovo Oblast Kemerovo
Khabarovsk Krai Khabarovsk
Khakassia Abakan
Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug Khanty-Mansiysk
Kirov oblast Kirov
Komi Syktyvkar
Kostroma Oblast Kostroma
Krasnoyarsk Krai Krasnoyarsk
Krasnoyarsk Krai Krasnodar
Kurgan Oblast Kurgan
Kursk Oblast Kursk
Leningrad Oblast Saint Petersburg
Lipetsk Oblast Lipetsk
Magadan Oblast Magadan
Mari El Yoshkar-Ola
Mordovia Saransk
Moscow Moscow
Moscow Oblast Vostochnoe Degunino
Murmansk Oblast Murmansk
Nenets Autonomous Okrug Nar'yan-Mar
Nizhny Novgorod Oblast Nizhniy Novgorod
North Ossetia-Alania Vladikavkaz
Novgorod Oblast Velikiy Novgorod
Novosibirsk Oblast Novosibirsk
Omsk Oblast Omsk
Orenburg Oblast Orenburg
Oryol Oblast Orel
Penza Oblast Penza
Perm Krai Perm
Primorsky Krai Vladivostok
Pskov Oblast Pskov
Rostov Oblast Rostov-na-Donu
Ryazan Oblast Ryazan'
Saint Petersburg Saint Petersburg
Sakha Yakutsk
Sakhalin Oblast Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
Samara Oblast Samara
Saratov Oblast Saratov
Smolensk Oblast Smolensk
Stavropol Krai Stavropol'
Sverdlovsk Oblast Yekaterinburg
Tambov Oblast Tambov
Tatarstan Kazan
Tomsk Oblast Tomsk
Tula Oblast Tula
Tuva Kyzyl
Tver Oblast Tver
Tyumen Oblast Tyumen
Udmurtia Izhevsk
Ulyanovsk Oblast Ulyanovsk
Vladimir Oblast Vladimir
Volgograd Oblast Volgograd
Vologda Oblast Vologda
Voronezh Oblast Voronezh
Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug Salekhard
Yaroslavl Oblast Yaroslavl
Zabaykalsky Krai Chita

Countries of Asia

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.