1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Middle East/
  4. Pakistan/
  5. Pakistan Timeline

Pakistan History Timeline


  • (2000) Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif sentenced to life imprisonment for hijacking and terrorism charges, went into exile in India signed an agreement to reduce the risk of accidental nuclear war
  • (2007) Protests began after President Musharraf suspended Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammed Chaudhry
  • (2007) Red Mosque complex in Islamabad stormed by security forces following week-long siege
  • (2007) Chief Justice Chaudhry reinstated by Supreme Court
  • (2007) Former Prime Minister, Benazir Bhutto, returned from exile; during her homecoming parade in Karachi, dozens were killed by suicide bomb
  • (2007) Over 200 killed in fighting during offensive launched by the Army against militants in North Waziristan
  • (2007) Musharraf won presidential election, but was challenged by Supreme Court
  • (2007) President Musharraf declared emergency rule, dismissed Chief Justice Chaudhry, appointed new Supreme Court
  • (2007) New Supreme Court confirmed Musharraf's re-election
  • (2007) Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif returned from exile
  • (2007) Musharraf lifted emergency rule, restored suspended constitution
  • (2007) During political rally in Rawalpindi, Benazir Bhutto was assassinated
  • (2008) Yusuf Raza Gilani elected prime minister
  • (2008) President Musharraf resigned
  • (2008) Asif Ali Zardari, widower of Benazir Bhutto, elected president
  • (2008) Suicide bombing at Marriott Hotel in Islamabad killed 53

About Pakistan

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.