1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Middle East/
  4. Pakistan/
  5. Pakistan Timeline

Pakistan History Timeline

1900s continued

  • (1965) Second war between Afghanistan
  • (1983) Government lifted press censorship from periodicals
  • (1985) General elections were held, Mohammed Khan Junejo sworn in as prime minister, General Muhammad Zia ul-Haq as president
  • (1985) Pakistan was founding member of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)
  • (1985) Martial law lifted
  • (1985) Amended 1973 Constitution was revived
  • (1985) Ban on political parties was lifted
  • (1986) Benazir Bhutto, daughter of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, returned from exile to lead PPP party
  • (1988) Government of Prime Minister Mohammad Khan Junejo dismissed on charges of incompetence by President Zia, Parliament was disbanded, and new elections ordered
  • (1988) President Zia decreed Sharia to be supreme law of the land
  • (1988) President Zia died in mysterious plane crash, Ghulam Ishaq Khan took over as acting president
  • (1988) Elections held, Benazir Bhutto became first woman prime minister of a Muslim nation
  • (1990) President Kham dismissed Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and her government, dissolved National Assembly
  • (1990) In elections, Nawaz Sharif elected prime minister
  • (1991) Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif began economic liberalization program
  • (1991) Islamic Shariah law added into legal code
  • (1993) President Ishaq Khan, Prime Minister Sharif resigned under pressure from military
  • (1993) Benazir Bhutto elected prime minister, Farooq Laghari elected president
  • (1995) Two Kashmir, more than 1,000 killed
  • (1999) In military coup, Army deposed Prime Minister Sharif; General Pervez Musharraf became chief executive
  • (1999) General Musharraf declared state of emergency, suspended the constitution

About Pakistan

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.