1. World Map /
  2. Asia/
  3. Nepal/
  4. Nepal Timeline

Nepal History Timeline

Nepal's Information

Flag of Nepal
Land Area 143,351 km2
Water Area 3,830 km2
Total Area 147,181km2 (#93)
Population 29,033,914 (#45)
Population Density 202.54/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $71.52 Billion
GDP Per Capita $2,500
Currency Rupee (NPR)
Largest Cities
2000s continued
  • (2008) Maoists won largest bloc of seas in elections, failed to achieve full majority
  • (2008) Nepal became a republic
  • (2008) Following dispute over who should be next head of state, Maoist ministers resigned from the cabinet
  • (2008) Ram Baran Yadav became Nepal's first president
  • (2008) Maoist leader, Prachanda elected prime minister, formed coalition government; Nepali Congress opposed
  • (2008) More than 10,000 Bhutanese refugees were homeless after a fire swept through their camp in southeastern Nepal
  • (2009) Prime Minister Prachanda resigned after dispute with President Yadav
  • (2009) Maoists left government after opposition to integrate former rebel fighters into national army
  • (2009) Madhav Kumar Nepal, Communist leader, named prime minister
  • (2009) Maoist-led land grab in west Nepal led to killing of four people during clashes
  • (2010) Maoist opposition, governing coalition extended drafting of new constitution until May, 2011
  • (2010) Maoist opposition supporters called for prime minister's resignation in a general strike which closed transportation, schools and markets country-wide
  • (2010) Bowing to Maoist pressure, Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal resigned
  • (2011) UN's peace mission to Nepal ended after four years
  • (2011) Following seven-month stale-mate of no effective government, Jhalnath Khanal elected prime minister
  • (2011) Deadline for new constitution was not met
  • (2011) Airports, hotels, restaurants, government offices and public transport became smoke-free under a new law
  • (2011) Over 2,200 people stranded for six days in town near Mount Everest due to bad weather
  • (2011) Prime Minister Jhalnath Khanal resigned following government's failure to reach compromises on new constitution and fate of Maoist fighters
  • (2011) Maoist Party Baburam Bhattari elected prime minister by Parliament
  • (2012) Four climbers died while returning from the summit of Mt Everest
  • (2012) Prime Minister Bhattari dissolved parliament, led caretaker government
  • (2012) Prime Minister Bhattari called for elections to be held in November
  • (2013) Supreme Court Chief Justice, Khilraj Regmi, was named head of interim government
  • (2013) Nepali Congress Party won majority of seats in elections, Maoist leader, Prachanda, said he did not accept the results, disputes continued
  • (2013) Maoist student activists led strike in Kathmandu, stoned and set fire to a dozen vehicles, demanded that the government cancel a fuel price increase
  • (2014) Parliament elected Sushil Koirala as prime minister
  • (2014) Tourism authority declared those climbing Mount Everest must return with extra 18 pounds of garbage to help eliminate trash left behind over the years
  • (2014) Avalanche on Mount Everest killed at least 13 Sherpas
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Nepal Trivia

What is the Biggest Ethnic Group in Nepal?

The Chhetri are the largest ethnic group in Nepal, representing just over 16% of the country's population.

Largest Ethnic Groups In Nepal

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia