University of New South Wales (UNSW) - Educational Institutions Around the World

Sydney, where the University of New South Wales is located,

The University of New South Wales is an Australian public research university located in Kensington in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. The university has a Latin motto which can be translated to English to read “Knowledge by Hand and Mind”.

5. Founding

UNSW was founded in 1949 as a result of the crisis demands of the world war II. The university was suggested by minister of education at the time, Bob Heffron. It was accepted on July 9th 1946. The University originated from the Sydney School of Arts established in 1833 and Sydney Technical College established in 1878.

4. History

Classes commenced in 1948 with an 46 students in predominantly programs of engineering. The school used to be integrated into the Sydney Technical College city campus in Ultimo. In 1951, however, the university was moved to its current location. The University name changed its name to New South Wales in 1958. Arthur Denning was the university’s first director.

3. Structure

The university is governed by the university council comprising of 15 members including the Chancellor. The university council protects the interests and objectives of the university. UNSW has nine faculties including UNSW Art and Design, Arts and Social Sciences, Built Environment, Business School, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Science and Canberra at ADFA. The nine faculties have their respective boards responsible for teaching and examining of subjects in their scoop.The university also houses the important Lowy Cancer Research Center.

2. Rankings

UNSW is one of top universities in Australia. In 2016, the QS World University Rankings ranked UNSW globally as the 49th overall. The Academic Ranking of World Universities ranked UNSW between the 101th-150th position. As per the Australian rankings, UNSW is ranked 49th by the QS World University Rankings. The Times Higher Education World University Rankings and the United States News and World Report ranked UNSW as the 6th position. The university’s main campus located in Kensington has an upper and lower campus and other additional campuses are located in Randwick, Coo gee Cowan, Coffs Harbor and Banks town Airport.

1. Alumni

The University has a lot of notable alumni all over the world such as Mehdi Ghazazanfari (Minister of Commerce in Iran), Roger Corbett (former Chairman of the Reserve Bank of Australia), Charlie Teo (neurosurgeon) and Bob Carr (former Foreign Minister of Australia). Besides all these prominent personalities, there are other alumni who are contributing towards the betterment of the society either within the country or in different parts of the world.


More in Society