Teams With The Most NBA Championships

By Victor Kiprop on June 17 2019 in World Facts

Basketball is one of the most popular sports in the US.
Basketball is one of the most popular sports in the US.

Springfield, Massachusetts is the home of basketball, the sport having been invented there in 1891 by Canadian native James Naismith. Today, basketball is one of the most popular sports in the United States as well as the world. The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the premier basketball league in the United States. The 30 teams divided into two; Western and Eastern Conferences each with 15 teams. The top eight teams at the end of the regular season qualify for the playoffs in their respective conference. The winners of both conferences compete in the final game where the NBA champion for the season is decided. Only 20 teams have won the championship since its inception in 1946. The Eastern Conference has 38 titles, five more than the Western Conference. The Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics have jointly won 33 titles. In June 2019, the only Canadian team in the championship; The Toronto Raptors, won game six of the finals against the Golden State Warriors to win the team’s first championship title.

Boston Celtics

The Boston Celtics are the most successful team in the NBA. The team has won 17 championship titles and lost four finals. The team is a member of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference and one of the eight original teams that formed the NBA. The Celtics and the Los Angeles Lakers (16 titles) have the most intense rivalry in the NBA. The team last won the championship in 2008.

Los Angeles Lakers

The Los Angeles Lakers have won 16 NBA championships, one behind their arch-rivals, the Boston Celtics. The team is a member of the Pacific Division of the Western Conference. The Lakers have participated in 31 finals and lost 15. The team has the second highest win-loss record percentage in the NBA after the San Antonio Spurs. The team was known as the Minneapolis Lakers before 1960.

Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors have won the NBA championship six times. The team was founded in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors but renamed to the San Francisco Warriors in 1962 and finally the Golden State Warriors in 1971. The team won the NBA championship in 2015, 2017, and 2018. The Golden State Warriors were in contention to win the 2019 title but lost the finals to the Toronto Raptors.

Canada's Team

The Toronto Raptors is the only Canadian team of the NBA, the other 29 teams being from American cities. The Raptors are part of the Eastern Conference Atlantic Division. The team was founded in 1995. In 2019, the team beat the Golden State Warriors to claim the NBA championship. The championship was a first for the Raptors as well as for Canada

Teams With The Most NBA Championships

RankTeamsChampionships WonMost Recent Win
1Boston Celtics172008
2Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers162010
3Philadelphia/San Francisco/Golden State Warriors62018
4Chicago Bulls
5San Antonio Spurs52014
6Fort Wayne/Detroit Pistons32004
7Miami Heat32013
8Syracuse Nationals/Philadelphia 76ers31983
9Houston Rockets21995
10New York Knicks21973
11Cleveland Cavaliers12016
12Dallas Mavericks12011
13Toronto Raptors12019

More in World Facts