Prime Ministers Of The Democratic Republic Of The Congo (Congo-Kinshasa)

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is also referred to as the DR Congo, Congo-Kinshasa, or simply as DRC. It is a country in Central Africa. It was known as the Belgian Congo from 1908 to 1960, while from 1971 to 1997 the country was referred to as Zaire. The DRC is the second largest country in Africa in terms of square miles, and the fourth most populous country on the continent. The constitution of DRC created the post of the Prime Minister. Under the constitution, the president appoints the prime minister from the political party with the Majority members of the National Assembly. Since it gained independence on June 30, 1960, DRC has had twenty-six Prime Ministers and one acting Prime Minister. From 1966 to 1977, 1986 to 1987, and 1997 to 2006, the position was nonexistent.

Patrice Emery Lumumba

Patrice Emery Lumumba was born on July 2, 1925. He the first Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. He was the first politically elected leader. Lumumba played a key role in the struggle for independence. In his early life, Lumumba worked as a clerk in a government post office and as a beer salesperson. In 1951, he married his longtime girlfriend, Pauline Opangu. In 1955, the Cercles of Stanleyville voted Lumumba as its regional head. He was later arrested in the same year on charges of embezzlement of funds. He was imprisoned for two years but served only for one after he returned the funds. In 1958, he was part of the team that founded the Congolese National Movement (MNC), and later represented it at the All-African Peoples’ Conference. In 1959, Lumumba was arrested for inciting anti-colonial riots in Kisangani. Although he was sentenced to sixty-nine months in prison in 1960, MNC was the majority of votes in the elections held in the same year. Pressure from delegates and African leaders led to his release. He attended the Brussels conference that set the declaration of independence of DRC. Lumumba became the Prime Minister while Joseph Kasa-Vubu became the President. Shortly after he took office, Lumumba raised the salaries of all government employees except the army. The omission of the military from the salary increase and the oppression of the servicemen by the Belgium superiors led to a mutiny that escalated to the infamous Congo crisis. Lumumba turned to Russia for aid in what was view by western countries as a bid to make DRC a communist state. He was assassinated in by a firing squad. The exact day of his assassination is not known, but it is believed to be on January 17, 1961. He served as the prime minister for six months.

Leon Kengo Wa Dondo

Leon Kengo was born on May 22, 1935. His father was a Polish man while his mother was Rwandese. He was born Leon Lubicz, but in 1971 he changed his name to Kengo Wa Dondo. Leon Kengo served three times as the prime minister of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Kengo first term as the prime minister was from 1982 to 1986. In 1866, be served as the minister of foreign affairs, a post he held until 1987. In 1988, he became the prime minister for the second time, and he served once again until 1990. In 1944, he was made the Prime Minister to neutralize Etienne Tshisekedi, the then most popular opposition leader. Kengo expelled the Lebanese nationals residing in DRC for illegally exporting diamonds. In December 1966, Kengo chaired a crisis cabinet with the aim of defeating Laurent Kabila, a rebel leader who instigated the Congo civil war. He was accused of not doing enough to stop the rebel leader, he resigned from the government in April 1997, a month later, the Mobutu regime collapsed. In 2003, Belgium charged him with money laundering. He returned to DRC, and in 2007, and he elected to the Senate. He was later voted as the president of the Senate, a position he holds to date.

Prime Ministers Of The Democratic Republic Of The Congo (Congo-Kinshasa)Term(s) in Office
Patrice Lumumba
Joseph Iléo
1960; 1961
Albert Ndele
Justin Marie Bomboko
Cyrille Adoula
Moise Tshombe
Évariste Kimba
Léonard Mulamba
Position Non-existent1966-1977; 1986-1987; 1997-2006
Mpinga Kasenda
Bo-Boliko Lokonga Monse Mihambo
Jean Nguza Karl-i-Bond
1980-1981; 1991-1992
N'singa Udjuu Ongwabeki Untubu
Kengo Wa Dondo
1982-1986; 1988-1990; 1994-1997
Mabi Mulumba
Sambwa Pida Nbagui
Lunda Bululu
Mulumba Lukoji
Étienne Tshisekedi
1991; 1992-1993; 1997
Bernardin Mungul Diaka1991
Faustin Birindwa
Likulia Bolongo
Antoine Gizenga
Adolphe Muzito
Louis Alphonse Koyagialo
Augustin Matata Ponyo

More in Politics