Governors Of The Pitcairn Islands Since 1970

These Governors have served as the British Crown's representatives in Pitcairn since Fiji's independence.

The Islands of Pitcairn are a collection of islands in the southernmost reaches of the Pacific region. Mutineers established these Islands in the year of 1790, and the island was effectually independent until the year 1898. The British monarch created the position of Governor of Pitcairn to represent the Pitcairn Islands. It is situated in the last residual Overseas Territory of the British in the region of the Pacific Ocean. They have substantial local self-government, but they are underneath the power of the overseas Governor. The governors in the most recent era have served the British as representatives in the Pitcairn Islands solely since Fiji’s independence separated it from such British government affiliation.

Sir Arthur Norman Galsworthy

Galsworthy was a soldier in Great Britain, and a representative as well. He completed his studies at Emanuel School and done further studies at the Oxford University. In 1967, he was recognized as a Knight Commander. In 1970, he was selected by the government of British to serve his amenities as the Governor of Islands of Pitcairn and was appointed as the High Commissioner to the state of New Zealand. He served from October 1970 to January 1973 in Pitcairn Islands. He was also recognized as the Ambassador of the State of Ireland in 1973, where he has served during the year of 1973 to 1976.

David Aubrey Scott

Scott was also a British representative who assisted as High Commissioner to the state of New Zealand and became an Ambassador to the state of South Africa. He linked up with the Relations Office of Commonwealth in 1948 where Scott was a junior private administrator to the Administrator of State in the period 1949. From the year 1951 to 1953, Scott was in Cape Town and Pretoria as well, and then he started working in the office of Cabinet from the year 1954 until 1956. He has also assisted in Singapore by the year 1956 to 1958. Till 1960, he was on a mission in Central Africa. Then he became Deputy High Commissioner and served from 1961 to 1963. Then Scott joined in India as Deputy High Commissioner from the year 1965 to 1967 and was also presented with the award of CMG in the year 1966. By the year 1967 to 1970, he remained as the High Commissioner for British. Then from January of 1973 to 1975, he has been serving as the governor of Pitcairn Islands.

Harold Smedley

Harold Smedley had served many different countries. He was a commando in 1944. Then, in the year 1946, he moved into the Dominions Office and provided his service there. Then he became the private secretary from 1947 to 1948 in the office of British High Commissioner in New Zealand. In the year 1951, he became the chief private secretary for the Commonwealth Relations. Smedley became High Commissioner to Ghana from 1964 to 1967. Then he became the subordinate Under the Secretary at the office of Commonwealth by the year 1970 to 1972. In 1973, he became the non-resident representative until the year 1975. He then served the Pitcairn Islands in the year of 1976 to 1980.

The careers and lives of many of these governors were challenging, yet accomplished. They served many nations along with the Pitcairn Islands. Many of these Governors have served the Pitcairn Islands in varied other ways as well, and served the islands well with their services in each capacity.

Governors Of The Pitcairn Islands Since 1970

RankGovernors of PitcairnTerm in Office
1Sir Arthur Norman Galsworthy
October of 1970 to January of 1973
2David Aubrey ScottJanuary of 1973 to 1975
3Harold SmedleyFebruary of 1976 to 1980
4Richard StrattonSeptember of 1980 to 1984
5Terence Daniel O'LearyJuly of 1984 to 1987
6Robin ByattDecember of 1987 to 1990
7David MossSeptember of 1990 to 1994
8Robert John AlstonAugust of 1994 to the 10th of February of 1998
9Martin WilliamsApril of 1998 to 2001
10Richard Fell10th of December of 2001 to April of 2006
11George Fergusson2nd of May of 2006 to the 18th of May of 2010
12Mike Cherrett19th of May of 2010 to the 3rd of June of 2010
13Victoria Treadell3rd of June of 2010 to July of 2014
14Jonathan SinclairIncumbent; 15th of August of 2014 to Present

More in Politics