Canadian NHL Teams

By Sophy Owuor on August 8 2019 in World Facts

The Montreal Canadiens logo. Editorial credit: BalkansCat /
The Montreal Canadiens logo. Editorial credit: BalkansCat /

The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional ice hockey league in North America and is considered one of the "Big Four" major professional sports leagues in the United States (US) and Canada. The NHL was founded on November 26, 1917, in Montreal, Canada, following the suspension of the National Hockey Association. The league is currently composed of 31 teams, 24 of which are based in the US, while the other 7 are based in Canada. The Canadian NHL teams are highlighted below.

Seven Canadian-Based NHL Teams

Montreal Canadiens

Based in Montreal, Quebec, the Montreal Canadiens play in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. Popularly known in English as the Habs, the team was founded in 1909 and is one of the oldest professional sports teams in North America. The Canadiens top the list of Stanley Cup winners, having won the championship 24 times, and 23 times since the founding of the NHL. The team plays home games at the Bell Center.

Ottawa Senators

The Ottawa Senators also play in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. Based in Ottawa, Ontario, the Senators play home games at the Canadian Tire Center. The team was founded in 1992 by Bruce Firestone and became the second NHL franchise to be named the Ottawa Senators. The Senators have made one appearance in the Stanley Cup Finals, but have never won the trophy. However, the team has won the Division championship four times and the Presidents’ Trophy once.

Toronto Maple Leafs

The Toronto Maple Leafs were founded in 1917 and are based in Toronto, Ontario. The team plays in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. The Maple Leafs initially played home games at Mutual Street Arena, followed by Maple Leaf Gardens, and now play at Scotiabank Arena. The club has won the Stanley Cup Championship a 13 times, which ranks as second-most in NHL history.

Winnipeg Jets

The Jets are based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and play in the Central Division of the Western Conference. The franchise began in 1999 as the Atlanta Thrashers but was later bought by True North Sports & Entertainment in 2011 and relocated to Winnipeg. The club was renamed the Winnipeg Jets, after the original Winnipeg Jets franchise that relocated and become the Arizona Coyotes following the 1995-96 season. The Jets are among the teams that have never won any trophy in the NHL.

Calgary Flames

Based in Calgary, the Flames are one of two NHL teams in the province of Alberta, the other being the Edmonton Oilers. The franchise was founded in 1972 as the Atlanta Flames, and later relocated to Calgary in 1980. The team initially played home games at the Stampede Corral, but currently play at the Scotiabank Saddledome. The Calgary Flames have won one Stanley Cup, one Presidents’ Trophy, and three Conference championships.

Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton Oilers and Calgary Flames are engaged in a provincial rivalry known as the "Battle of Alberta." However, historically the Oilers have been the better team. The franchise was founded in 1971 and went on to win the Stanley Cup a record five times in seven seasons between 1983-1984 and 1989-1990. However, the team has missed the playoffs every year since 2006, with the exception of the 2016-2017 season.

Vancouver Canucks

The Canucks are based in Vancouver, British Columbia, and are members of the Pacific Division of the Western Conference. The team joined the NHL in 1970 and has appeared at the Stanley Cup Finals three times, but has not won the prestigious trophy. The Vancouver Canucks currently play home games at Rogers Arena.

NHL Trophies

Named in honor of Lord Stanley of Preston, the prestigious Stanley Cup is awarded to the NHL playoffs champions. The Montreal Canadiens have won the Stanley Cup a record 24 times. There have been 25 different NHL champions since the league’s formation in 1917. The Presidents’ Trophy is awarded to the team that finishes with the most points at the end of the regular NHL season.

List of Canadian NHL Teams

RankNHL TeamCity and Province
1Montreal CanadiensMontreal, Quebec
2Ottawa SenatorsOttawa, Ontario
3Toronto Maple LeafsToronto, Ontario
4Winnipeg JetsWinnipeg, Manitoba
5Calgary FlamesCalgary, Alberta
6Edmonton OilersEdmonton, Alberta
7Vancouver CanucksVancouver, British Columbia

More in World Facts