Australian National University - Institutions Around the World

The Australian National University (ANU) is located in Canberra, Australia.


Australian National University ( ANU ) is anational public research university located in Canberra, the capital of Australia.

5. History

Brian Lewis, a professor of Architecture in the University of Melbourne was appointed to design the university’s major buildings in 1947. Sir Douglas Copland was appointed as the university’s first Vice- Chancellor in 1948 and in 1952 the university’s first Chancellor. Lord Bruce was installed and ANU was later amalgamated with Canberra University College (CUC). CUC became the School of General Studies at ANU and undergraduates became a part of the ANU life. The two University Libraries were opened in 1963 and the first female professor Hanna Neumann was appointed in 1964. The ANU Graduate School was later established in1989 to coordinate graduate teaching and resources across the university. The Canberra Institute of the arts later joined with the ANU. The Australian National University continued growing drastically and in 2016, professor Brian P. Schmidt became the Vice –Chancellor as of 1st January 2016.

4. Founding

ANU was founded in 1946 and it is unique for having been created by the Parliament of Australia as a result of the passage of the Australian National University Act in 1 August 1946. Between 1944 to 1945 there were discussions between intellectuals and administrators which set scene for the establishment of the National University. The university was initially founded as a postgraduate research university.

3. Rankings

Australian National University is among the top Universities in Australia and is ranked the 22nd worldwide. It is consistently ranked top of the list of universities in Australia. It took the 47th position worldwide and the 2nd in Australia as per the Times Higher Education Rankings. The CWTS Leiden Ranking ranked ANU as the 100th in the world and the 1st university in Australia.

2. Structure

ANU is governed by a 15-member Council whose members include the Chancellor and the undergraduate students are governed by a student’s union called the Australian National University Students’ Association (ANUSA) while the postgraduate students are represented by the Postgraduate and Research Students’ Association (PARSA). The university has is organized into seven academic colleges that contain a network of inter-related faculties, research schools and centres. These colleges include: College of Arts and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Engineering and Computer Science, Law, Medicine Biology and Environment, Physical and Mathematical Sciences and College of Asia and the Pacific. The schools include: Research School of Physics and Engineering and the research centres include Asia Pacific College of Diplomacy and the Crawford School of Economics and Government. ANU also has a library which originated in 1948.

1. Alumni

As one of the world's leading universities, the Australian National University has produced many notable alumni worldwide. Such examples include Bob Hawke and Kevin Rudd, former Australian Prime Ministers, senior politicians such as Nick Minchin, Kim Beazley Sr, Peter Garret and Craig Emerson. ANU has also produced 30 current Australian ambassadors. The former United States ambassador to Israel also attended the Australian National University.


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.


More in Society